Netanyahu era ends in Israel as new government survives key parliament vote

Party leaders of the proposed new coalition government, including United Arab List party leader Mansour Abbas, Labour party leader Merav Michaeli, Blue and White party leader Benny Gantz, Yesh Atid leader Yair Lapid, Yamina party leader Naftali Bennett, New Hope party leader Gideon Saar, Yisrael Beitenu party leader Avigdor Lieberman and Meretz party leader Nitzan Horowitz pose for a picture at the Knesset, Israel's parliament, before the start of a special session to approve and swear-in the coalition government, in Jerusalem June 13, 2021. Ariel Zandberg/REUTERS

Israel’s parliament voted 60-59 in favour of a new government on Sunday, ending Benjamin Netanyahu’s 12-year consecutive tenure as premier.

Ultra-nationalist Naftali Bennett will head the new cabinet, comprising parties from left to right, for a little over two years before his centrist ally, Yair Lapid, takes over.

Benjamin Netanyahu has lost his 12-year hold on power in Israel after the country’s parliament voted in a new coalition government. A new “government of change” will be led by right-wing nationalist Naftali Bennett of the Yamina party.

Bennett will be prime minister until September 2023 as part of a power-sharing deal.

He will hand power over to Yair Lapid, leader of the centrist Yesh Atid, for a further two years.


[do_widget_area inner_adsbar]

Comments are closed.