US launches four airstrikes against Islamic militants in Iraq

0
222
The U.S. unleashed its first airstrikes in northern Iraq against militants of the Islamic State group Friday amid a worsening humanitarian crisis. AP
The U.S. military says American jet fighters and drones have conducted four more airstrikes on Islamic militants in Iraq, taking out armored carriers and a truck that were firing on civilians.
U.S. Central Command says the Islamic State militants were firing on Yazidi civilians taking shelter in the Sinjar mountains. In a statement, the military says the militants were firing on civilians indiscriminately.
Central Command says the strikes near Sinjar were spread out, with three before noon EDT on Saturday (before 1600 GMT) and one about 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT).
The military says indications suggest that the strikes were successful in destroying the armored vehicles.
This is the third round of airstrikes against Islamic State forces by the U.S. military since they were authorized by President Barack Obama.
Source: AP

Leave a reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close