Sri Lanka beat India to win maiden World T20 title

Sri Lanka were beaten in the 2007 and 2011 World Cup finals and the 2009 and 2012 World T20 finals.
Sri Lanka became the T20 champions for the first time defeating India by six wickets with 13 balls remaining in the final of the fifth World Twenty20 in Mirpur on Sunday.
The 2007 winners lost opener Ajinkya Rahane in the second over before Kohli added 60 runs with Rohit Sharma (29) to prop up the innings and prepare for a late assault that failed to materialise.
Yuvraj Singh struggled to find the middle of the bat, taking up 21 balls to score just 11, which coupled with Sri Lanka\’s brilliant death bowling restricted India to a total that left their bowlers little margin for error.
"In the middle overs, our batsmen tried their best to get going but it was one of those days when we couldn\’t convert the kind of start we got," India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said.
Kohli, the tournament\’s top scorer and player of the event, ran himself out on the final delivery of the innings after a 58-ball knock that included four sixes and five boundaries. 
Sri Lanka pace spearhead Lasith Malinga dished out plenty of accurate yorkers as India managed just 19 runs off their last four overs.
Kumar Sangakkara hit an important 52 not out in his last Twenty20 international outing to help Sri Lanka chase down the 131-run victory target with 13 balls to spare and deny India, the reigning 50-over World Cup and Champions Trophy winners, a record limited over treble.
Sri Lanka were beaten in the 2007 and 2011 World Cup finals and the 2009 and 2012 World T20 finals.
Source: Agencies

Leave a reply

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.