New Zealand names 30-man World Cup squad

Troubled batsman Jesse Ryder has been omitted from New Zealand\’s enlarged 30-man squad named Monday to prepare for next year\’s Cricket World Cup.
Ryder, who last played for New Zealand in January, was seen to have an outside chance of selection after strong performances in domestic limited overs matches. But his prospects likely evaporated when he made himself unavailable for personal reasons for the New Zealand A team\’s recent tour to the United Arab Emirates.
His selection would have been contingent on his form on that tour.
New Zealand will name its final World Cup squad of 15 next month and only players named in the larger squad will be considered.
Fast bowler Doug Bracewell who, with Ryder, was briefly barred from New Zealand selection after a late night drinking incident in January has been included in the squad.
Bracewell suffered a foot injury while visiting Auckland bars with Ryder on the eve of New Zealand\’s first cricket test against India. He won back the confidence of the New Zealand selectors with his recent performances for New Zealand A.
All members of the squad have previously played for New Zealand.
New Zealand squad: Corey Anderson, Hamish Bennett, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Neil Broom, Dean Brownlie, Colin de Grandhomme, Anton Devcich, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Roneel Hira, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Rob Nicol, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Daniel Vettori, B.J. Watling, Kane Williamson.
Source: AP

Leave a reply

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.